Skip to content

Rescue Dogs

August 23, 2008

Responsible breeders will always take back dogs they have bred or help with placement if for some reason one of their puppies needs to be rehomed.  Unfortunately there are many “breeders” who are not responsible for their dogs thru their life time.    These dogs are the ones who end up in rescue.  Most responsible breeders not only take care of their own but also help out with the lost dogs of rescue.  I’ve done both GSP and CWC rescue and also assisted with Pem rescue and even helped out with Collie rescue once.  It is both a delightful and heartbreaking job. 

My best friend Leslie of KeelMtn Corgis http://www.keelmtn.com/rescue.html is truly dedicated to rescue and she is currently fostering two Pembroke Welsh Corgi.  An older girl and a puppy. 

She writes this in an email to Corgi enthusiast:

“On Monday, I received 2 Pem girls from a puppy mill. The baby, a tri puppy about 9 weeks old, has both patellas completely luxated. She gets around easily and happily in a bunny hop, but likely we can have the patellas repaired. If anybody has knowledge of congenital luxated patellas, I’d love to learn more. She is a sweet loving puppy and has my guys wrapped around her paw.

The older girl is who really worries me. She is 3 1/2 years old and until Monday never had a name! She is 29# about 5# too much, although apparently she has already lost a lot of weight, has much loose skin and her bib is stained pink, I’m guessing from drooling because of panting so much from being so heavy. She is completely harmless – but not in a good way – I don’t see a dog behind those sweet eyes. She has submitted to vetting, a bath, and toenail trim without struggle. She will briefly romp with the dogs in the yard, but when I reach out to her she freezes like a frightened rabbit. She has hardly eaten more than 2 mouthfuls in 3 days. She will not come out of her crate, nor will she come into the house once she’s been out. When she is in the house, she goes right back into the back of her crate or squeezes herself into the tiniest corner she can find if the crate is closed. She will not take food from your hand. She will not move if you put a lead on her. I’m conflicted on how to approach this. Do I force her to be socialized, take her to dog school with the others to watch, have lots of people touch her, not allow her to shut herself off from the world, or am I asking too much and I should let her do what she needs to be comfortable? I don’t want to traumatize any more than she already has been, but I am not giving up on this sweet girl. She deserves more.”

 

Gidget

Gidget

And later that day she writes:

 

Gabbi

Gabbi

“I am overwhelmed by the outpouring of emails I received with suggestions
to help my rescue girls, in addition to the posted responses! I want to
email each of your privately and will do so as soon as I can. I had no
idea how many of you would respond. THANK YOU, THANK YOU for caring
about these girls, who now for the first time have names of their own –
the tri baby is “Gidget” and the older red girl is “Gabi”.
 
I am blessed by having a husband who supports the chaos that a life
filled with dogs brings, by my own dogs who know no matter who consumes
my time temporarily, they hold my heart forever, and by friends like
you, who, though most have well-bred, well-cared for, and well-loved
dogs of your own, took the time to reach out to throw away dogs and try
to make a difference.
 
My heart is full tonight.
 
Leslie Gene Reed
 
KeelMtn Corgis
www.KeelMtn.com
Northern Alabama, USA
 
“Correction does much, but encouragement everything.” (from a fortune
cookie)”

Sweet girls

Sweet girls

 

The wonderful folks who donate to CorgiAid http://www.corgiaid.org/ will help Leslie with some of the bills for helping these girls get back to healthly (they always take donations).  It will be Leslie’s hard work and dedication that will bring them back to life and help them find forever homes.  Good folks, good food and a good life will do much for them.  Contact Leslie at KeelMtn if you have suggestions or are interested in the girls.

We must take care of our own.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeri permalink
    August 24, 2008 8:02 pm

    We already knew Leslie was something special but it’s things like this that really cement it. :o)

  2. August 25, 2008 6:20 am

    CorgiAid is IMO the greatest breed-specific rescue program. A great backbone to all Corgi rescues out there. I’m so glad that have stepped in to help! So many saints are in the dog world 🙂

  3. August 27, 2008 11:05 pm

    wow. i’m so glad you posted this! my next dog will be a rescue corgi! i absolutely love them!

    i’m very glad people are not stopping the posts about the results of puppy mills…

Leave a Reply

