Skip to content

San Francisco here we come……..

March 7, 2011

Well not for a few months anyway.  But the Uberplanner (control freak) me needs a plan, so who wants to help me plan my trip?

On August 4th I fly from El Paso to Sacramento for my annual trip to the Richmond Dog Fanciers show in Dixon, CA.  I belong to RDF and always look forward to my trip to Nor Cal.  This year will be even more special since my very wonderful friends Linda and Kevin Flynn of Milton, MA will be on the judging panel at RDF.  Since we are all together and so close to San Francisco we are taking a week after RDF to visit the city and enjoy a vacation together.

That is where the trip planning comes in.  What should 2 Eastcoaster and a Texan make sure to see/do while in the area?  Alcatraz & the Muir woods are on the list.   We will be there for 5 days, Monday thru Friday and we all fly home on Saturday 😦

Help the Uberplanner (I prefer that description to control freak).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam N permalink
    March 7, 2011 5:49 pm

    Two hour drive but worth it: Monterey Bay Aquarium

    Fisherman’s Wharf, and everything around there, Ghirardelli Square, etc.

    Napa wine tours

    San Francisco Zoo

    Lombard Street!

    Any of the State Beaches or Parks

    Sacramento Capital Building

    I’ll keep thinking! Have fun!

  2. Winjammin permalink
    March 7, 2011 10:18 pm

    Sam pretty much nailed it. I might add Pier 39 for the shopping and the restaurants there. Monterey is about a 2 hour drive south (if I remember correctly) but worth every minute. You might want to stop and do 17 mile drive on the way. It takes you around the Pebble Beach Golf Club, and it’s scenic vistas. Napa is an hour north from the city, and is fabulous, but you could also spend a full week being a “wino” driving through all of the wineries, taste testing as you go. hehe

    Alcatraz Bar and Grill used to be a great place to have lunch. Not sure if it’s still there or not, but worth finding out! :o) Then you hit Ghirardelli Square for dessert…double Ghirardelli chocolate ice cream with Ghirardelli hot fudge and whipped cream on top….YUM!!!! :o)

    Have a fabulous time!! I lived out there for four years in the mid 90s and loved every minute of it. Lots to do, if you have the money. Yes, everything out there costs to do, but most are worth what you pay.

    If you need more specific info on anything, shoot me an email! :o)

    Rus

    • March 8, 2011 4:08 am

      I loved Napa, my friends aren’t the wino I am so we are going to skip the wine touring this trip.

  3. Tara permalink
    March 8, 2011 11:44 pm

    If you’re willing to head into Berkley, try Chez Panisse. Alice Waters founded the 100 mile concept for food and the menu changes daily depending on seasonal availability. Its a bit pricey but if you sit in their “arbor room” you eat great food and see the golden gate bridge in the bay!

Leave a Reply

