Skip to content

Dragonfly dance

July 30, 2010

One of the joys of living with dogs is you never know what they will do next.

I mowed the yard this morning and after a few moments a swarm of dragonflies descended upon the yard.  Wicca the GSP has always been one to chase anything that flies and she moves at Mach 1 and she began to rocket around the yard chasing them.   Her actions caught the attention of Cardis and soon they were watching the dragonflies too. 

Wicca soon was distracted by something else but Bailey and Mandy had begun to follow them around the yard.  It was almost like the dragonflies were dancing  and playing with them, swoops and turns, leaps and pirouettes.  A lovely, funny dance around the yard.  It went on for about 10 minutes until either the dogs or the dragonflies got tired of the game.  Bailey and Mandy then flopped on the newly mown grass with happy tongue hanging smiles.  I wished for the camera but I was also glad I didn’t have anything else to do but watch and smile.

It’s always something, life with dogs.  Shelly Camm I thought of you too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kim permalink
    July 30, 2010 4:58 pm

    Ours love the dragonflies too.

    I also think of Shelley every time I see them playing.

  2. August 20, 2010 11:20 am

    Lovely little story! I could picture it so well in my mind’s eye!

    Dragonflies always make me think of Shelley, too, even though I know her only through her blog.

Leave a comment